Need a "big bit" of help with the files and the translations

You are viewing a static copy of the old 2DBoy forum, which closed in 2010. It is preserved here for historical interest, but it is not possible to reply to topics. For more recent discussion about World of Goo, visit our new forum.
Need a "big bit" of help with the files and the translationsEV10/28/2008 - 15:11

Guys, I am planning to translate the game into one or two languages (Kyle knows  ;)) and therefore I would like to somehow open and then save properly the text.xml.bin file.

I think that the translation will get working if I add a new "sk" (Slovak) language lines in the .bin file (just like "en" "it" etc) and then change the language in config.txt to "sk" aswell to see it in-game. Correct me, if this is wrong.

But I have problems with the opening and saving - I have seen the "Python apps" or whatever are they called in this forum, but I am not a PC expert, and have never seen such things  ??? A small guide how to use them (or to be more exact: how to properly open/save the .bin file) would be handy. I do not want to modify the game files, just this language file.

PS: Could you confirm me that the game does NOT support most of the following (kinda special) characters (I have seen the font images, but I need some more proof): č š ž ť ď ľ ô á í é ... You know, just to be sure and not use them (it does not make a big difference, the final translation will be understandable in Slovak language with no problems - but normal letters as c s z t will be used instead of those special ones.)

Thanks in advance :)

Last modified Tue, 10/28/2008 - 16:06 by EV
Re: Need a small bit of help with the files and the translationsMarius10/28/2008 - 15:21

Yes, you can just add the sk to the text.xml.bin, and then use the config.txt to use the language.