Dialup Internet problems...

17 replies [Last post]

Hey, I got OCD on all levels and wanted to publish my profile on this site. I have dialup internet at home, so copied all the WOG stuff (With the profile, of course) onto my memory stick. After setting all the "World of Goo installation" paramaters and clicking "Publish this profile" I get this error message box:

Internal server error: Trying to get property of non-object at gooprofile.upload.inc:221

I recognize 221 as an error code (being a programmer myself) but I didn't exactly program GooTool myself, so I don't know exactly what error this is or how to resolve it.

thB
thB's picture
ContributorAddin AuthorKleptomaniacToo Much Free TimeSerious OCD

In fact, 221 is the line on which the error occurred (inside the file gooprofile.upload.inc). This seems to be one of the scripts involved in processing your upload on the goofans server. So only davidc can fix this.

my gooey profile | my video channel | author of Hazardous Environment

Okay, that makes sense. Is the publish-profile part of GooTool so optimized that it could be done on dial-up Internet? Also, this is a kind of odd problem, since I can download and upload profiles no problem, I just can't publish them.

thB
thB's picture
ContributorAddin AuthorKleptomaniacToo Much Free TimeSerious OCD

I assume that by "download and upload profiles" you mean the backup/restore functionality? As long as you are connected to the Internet while trying dialup doesn't make any difference to a permanent connection. This is a server-side only problem.

my gooey profile | my video channel | author of Hazardous Environment

Yeah, I meant the backup/restore functionality. I was really wondering if this problem had anything to do with running GooTool off of a memory stick here at school, rather than at home with the slow Internet.

I got the same error, created this thread recently: http://goofans.com/forum/goofans/general-discussion/708